Pirates’ 1990 Sectional Champs Celebrate 25 Year Mark

1990BBBSectionalChampsIn 1990, Coach Allan Cundiff created one of the most phenomenal Pirates’ teams that have withstood time in the annals of hoops legacy at Charlestown High School.  And, on Saturday, February 28, 2015, at the CHS Sports Arena, these extraordinary Pirates along with Coach Cundiff will be honored prior to the Mid-Southern Conference encounter between the host Pirates and the Salem Lions on their Silver Jubilee of winning the IHSAA Floyd Central Sectional tournament.

          The 1990 Pirates were led by outstanding players, Buster Bussey, Brad Crace, Jamie Denney, Scott Fellows, Will Fugate, Chad Gilbert, Tony Jarvoka, Marlon Jemerson, Ross Knecht, Kyle Lovan, Todd Satterly, John Smith and Hank Weedin. They ended their basketball campaign 21-3, with the most victories by any Charlestown squad. They were Silver Creek Holiday Champs, undefeated Mid-Southern Conference champions, Floyd Central sectional champions, and Seymour regional semi-finalists.

The 1990 Pirates’ impressive average span of wins was 22.3 points per game. The final coaches poll had them ranked 18th in the state, and in the final Associated Press Indiana High School Basketball Poll, the Pirates ranked 8th in the Hoosier State.

            The Charlestown High School Pirates boys’ basketball program will celebrate 100 years of hoops action in 2017, and the return of these exceptional athletes to their alma mater presents only the third in a series of special Pirate tributes to other extraordinary coaches, players and teams, and their incredible moments on the hardwood.  After the game, come and enjoy the memories with these powerhouse players and Coach Cundiff in the Hospitality Room at the CHS Sports Arena. Light refreshments will be served.