Chad Gilbert Named to Hall of Fame Silver Anniversary Team

ADChadGilbertEighteen men have been named to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2016 Silver Anniversary Team, based on outstanding accomplishments as a senior basketball player 25 years ago.

The team includes 13 members of the 1991 Indiana All-Star squad.  Five other all-state players are included to recognize the top of Indiana’s high school class of 1991.

1991 Indiana All-Stars include Mr. Basketball Glenn Robinson, Alan Henderson, Daimon Beathea, Brandon Brantley, Brian Evans, Andy Elkins, Marlon Fleming, Jeff Massey, LaMar Morton, Steve Nicodemus, Andre Owens, LaSalle Thompson and Chris Wilburn.

The remaining five, named to various all-state teams are: Lance Barker, Tony Etchison, Jerry Freshwater, Chad Gilbert (Charlestown) and Jason Williams.

Charlestown’s Chad Gilbert, a three-year varsity starter scored 1,392 career points and averaged 26.9 points and 8.8 rebounds a game as a senior.  Gilbert led Charlestown to two Holiday Tournaments, one conference and sectional championship title, and also led 1990 team to best record in school history (21-3).  Gilbert was named the 1991 Conference Player of the Year, was a McDonald’s All-American nominee, and named twice to the Holiday Tournament all-tourney team.  Additionally, Gilbert was named the 1991 Holiday Tourney MVP and 1st team all-state by Louisville Courier-Journal, was also featured on the cover of Hoosier Basketball magazine 1991, and currently holds assist and free throw records at Charlestown.  Gilbert played two seasons at Indiana State University and two at the University of Southern Indiana.  He is a 2011 inductee into the USI Athletic Hall of Fame, put up most career points (1,011) and rebounds (506) by any two-year player in school history on teams that were 54-8 and won 1995 NCAA Division II National Championship. Gilbert went on to coach, with 264 wins and 51 losses during 13 seasons as head coach at Jeffersonville High School (both girls and boys); earning multiple Coach of the Year awards, his teams collected nine Conference titles, eight sectionals, five Elite Eight appearances and crowned 2011 4A girls state champions.  Gilbert has been the Athletic Director at his alma mater, Charlestown, since 2013 and is married with one son.

All Mens Silver Anniversary Team members will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s Annual Men’s Banquet on Wednesday, March 23, 2016.

A midday reception, free and open to the public, will be held at the Hall of Fame museum in New Castle.  The evening banquet will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis.

Reservation forms will be made available in early 2016, or tickets can be reserved now through the Hall’s website at Call the Hall at 765-529-1891 or email for more information.